LWC News
News Photo
Novak wins Individual Pursuit race at the Collegiate Track Nationals
Cycling - Sat, Sep. 21, 2013
Lindsey Wilson Cycling takes 7th place at Collegiate Track Nationals

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Lindsey Wilson cyclist David Novak time trialed his way to a first place finish in the men's 4km Individual Pursuit at the 2013 Collegiate National Track Cycling Championships and Lindsey Wilson took home seventh place in the Team Omnium results.

Novak finished his Pursuit race in 4 minutes 43 seconds, as he was three seconds ahead of second place finisher Zack Noonan of Fort Lewis College (Colo.). Novak's average speed was just above 31 mph. Justin Lowe finished in 30th and Luke Lucas in 58th.

In the Point's race later that night, Novak placed sixth, followed by teammate Chris Tveter in seventh. Though Novak crashed and returned to the race within the designated time, both were able to lap the field to add an additional 20 points to their score total to put them above many in the pack.

Hannah Hayduk raced in the minor final for the women's Points race due to a crash in the qualifier taking her out of the finals. She won her race and earned the 25th placing. In the women's individual 3km pursuit, Hayduk placed 26th while Mikayla Lyman rose up towards the top placing 16th.

On Thursday, in the 200m time trial, Chris Tveter qualified for the sprints but lost the first round to end up in 14th place. Michael Hart finished 45th. On the women's side, Hayduk placed 20th, followed closely by Mikayla Lyman in 24th, just tenths of a second separating their times.

Saturday was the final day of racing as three team events, a time trial and a individual scratch race took place to finalize who would take home the Team Omnium and Individual Omnium honors.

In the Men's Scratch Race, Tveter finished in 18th place, Lowe in 41st and Hart in 46th place. Hayduk was the only Blue Raider women to race and she finished in 14th.

Lindsey Wilson took ninth place in the Team Pursuit event as Lukas, Lowe, Novak and Tveter were the riders for this team event.

In the men's 1km time trial, Tveter finished in 1:10.495 for 28th place as Lowe was just over a second behind him in 37th place with a time of 1:11.611. Novak (1:13.486), Hart (1:15.086) and Lukas (1:15.587) round out the Blue Raiders riders, finishing 56th, 63rd and 68th respectively.

For the women, Lindsey Wilson's Lyman placed 32nd in the 500 meter time trial with a time of 41.939.

In the Mixed Sprint race, Lindsey Wilson placed sixth with a time of 2:20.829. The team was comprised of Hart, Hayduk, Lowe, Lyman and Novak.

In the Individual Omnium result, Hayduk finished in 26th place for the women as Jessica Prinner of Midwestern State  won the individual national championship with 474 points.

On the men's side, Tveter was the only Blue Raider to crack the top-15, finishing 14th with 192 points. Lowe (46) and Hart (59) were the only other Lindsey Wilson riders to place in the Individual Omnium. Zach Noonan of Fort Lewis College took home top honors on the men's side.

Marian (Ind.) University won the Team Omnium top honors with 1200 points followed by Fort Lewis College and Lindenwood University. Lindsey Wilson finished in seventh place with 529 points.

Bookmark and Share