LWC News
News Photo
Mia Persson is the NAIA Women's Soccer National Player of the Year.
Women's Soccer - Mon, Dec. 3, 2012
Persson is second national player of the year in program history after leading women's soccer to NAIA title

NAIA Release

COLUMBIA, Ky. – Days after leading Lindsey Wilson College to its third NAIA Women's Soccer National Championship, senior midfielder Mia Persson has been named the 2012 Select Sport America-NAIA National Player of the Year, officials from the national office announced on Monday.

Persson is the second Blue Raider to earn the honor since the award was created in 1997. Hishamar Faloner was the first recipient from Lindsey Wilson following the national title in 2006.

The Sjobo, Sweden, native Persson finishes her career as the school's all-time leading goal scorer with 72 in 94 games. By also receiving a spot on the NAIA All-America list, Persson becomes Lindsey Wilson's first four-time All-American. She made the first team in 2011, third team in 2010 and second team in 2009.

Persson ranked in the top 20 of six different statistical categories this season, including second in goals (31), fifth in points (68) and seventh in goals-per contest (1.24).

Also earning all-America spots were juniors Elizabet Madjarac and Renee Hurd on the first team, freshman Natasha Gensetter on the second team and sophomore Laerke Lillelund Michaelsen wrapping up the honorees as an honorable mention.

Madjarac and Lillelund Michaelsen are two-time all-Americans after being named to the honorable-mention list in 2011.

In its history, Lindsey Wilson has had 71 student-athletes named NAIA All-Americans, starting with Beverly Young in 1994.

Bookmark and Share