LWC News
News Photo
Alex Abner, left, and Branden Cresap earned Freshman of the Year honors from the MSC.
Football - Thu, Nov. 17, 2011
Blue Raiders earn 14 total poseason football awards from the Mid-South Conference

LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- With its second season of football in the books, Lindsey Wilson College continues to make strides with 14 Mid-South Conference East Division Postseason awards, handed out on the heels of a 7-3 season and 3-2 mark in conference play to finish in a tie for second place.

The awards were voted on by the Mid-South Conference coaches who were not permitted to vote for their own players and were released by league office officials on Thursday.

Headlining the Blue Raiders' award winners were defensive back Alex Abner and quarterback Branden Cresap who both received one of the league's five major individual honors.

Abner was named the MSC East Division Defensive Freshman of the Year, while Cresap shared Offensive Player of the Year honors with Georgetown (Ky.) College's Neal Pawsat.

Abner, from Somerset, Ky., finished the season with 43 tackles, including three for a loss. He also hauled in one interception and broke up four other passes.

Cresap earned the offensive newcomer honor after a season full of school records.

The Shelbyville, Ky., native posted program highs in passing yards (2,752), touchdowns (21) and completions (198). Cresap's 275.2 passing yards per game rank fifth in the entire NAIA.

In addition to the major awards, three Blue Raiders were named MSC East Division First-Team All-Conference.

Those players selected to the first team were sophomore offensive lineman Jon Smith, freshman wide receiver Chaz Barnes and Cresap.

An MSC-best nine players earned spots on the MSC East Division Honorable-Mention All-Conference team.

Honorable mention picks include freshman tight end Ben Madon, sophomore running back Dakota Brown, sophomore linebackers Aaron Taylor and Sam Wilson, Abner, freshmen defensive backs Josh Johnson and Eric Shaw, freshman kick returner Cortez Barber and sophomore punter Mark Corbett.

Georgetown's Bill Cronin was named the East Division Coach of the Year, while Campbellsville (Ky.) University's Stan Warrenhuffman is the Offensive Player of the Year and Georgetown's Zach Goebel is the Defensive Player of the Year.

Abner is Lindsey Wilson's second straight Defensive Freshman of the Year after Wilson earned the same honor at the end of the inaugural season.

Wilson was also an All-MSC First-Team selection in 2010, while Corbett and Smith were honorable-mention choices last season.


MSC Awards Release 

Bookmark and Share